You Only Live Once…

So, last night was….special.

One of my band buddies invited me to this black ritual themed bar party. I’ve never been to a themed party of any sort, let alone at the bar. The interesting thing was that this bar is often frequented by the more “ursine” of the population. I’ll let you take that as you can!  So, with that in mind, I grabbed my roommate and we headed out for a night on the town!

When we got there, I was less than impressed. The space was a lot smaller than the pictures lead itself to believe. I was driving so I got myself a diet soda and found my perch for the night to watch the festivities. The crowd was certainly older and not a lot was happening at first. There were less than 10 people at the bar. That all began to change as the hours started to pass. A more varied mix of people came in and out came all of the leather.  This was an unexpected turn of events. If you have ever kept fish, you know that you put new fish in their own little bag to acclimate it to the water and surrounding fish. I kinda felt like that fish last night. I was in my own little bubble and wasn’t quite sure how to act or what to do. One thing’s for sure…the leather culture is full of some very uninhibited people.

I won’t go into detail with what I witnessed, but let’s just say…wow. People were really not holding back….much of anything. I enjoy a bit of modesty in my clothing and actions, but it seems like all that was thrown out of the window at around 11pm last night.

Some of the other band people eventually turned up and provided me with some relief to my bubble. It was comforting to see them also feeling a bit awkward about the place.  It helped me feel not so alone there.

So, long story short….while I don’t think I will be going back, I was able to try something new and certainly saw a lot more than I was expecting!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “You Only Live Once…

  1. LOL. Love the fish analogy. This sounds like the most uncomfortable experience ever. Good for you for trying it, but also for being able to say that it’s not for you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

