Endurance Vs Speed?

Tonight saw a “4” mile run. I say “4” because I think the GPS in my phone is a bit jacked at the moment. I think it has me going at a faster pace than I know I am running. My intent was to take a leisurely jog around my apartment complex, but apparently my 4 mile time is now better than my 5k time. I know I’m getting better, but I don’t think I’m there yet. With that in mind, I began to think about the question of speed versus endurance.

If I really push myself, I know I can increase my time in the mile, but once that mile is over, I am spent and exhausted. However, if I keep a nice steady pace, my endurance can go on for quite some time. I don’t really know which I should focus on developing. Should I continue to go further at the same pace or should I work at getting faster in the same distance?  Help me out!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Endurance Vs Speed?

  1. Being in Cross Country in high school, we worked on both speed and endurance. If I remember right, two days out of the week were for speed and the other three were for endurance. I would definitely look into it more than just what I say as it has been a while but I definitely think a balance of the two will give you the best results. Good luck!

    • mylifeinprocess

      That makes sense! Just hard to think of plans when starting out 🙂 Thanks

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

