Making It Work

Sorry for not posting in the past few days! I haven’t forgotten about y’all, I promise.

I’ve actually been up in the woods of Northern Arizona with quite a few incoming freshmen. The idea was simple. I wanted to take new students and bond them together so that they had an additional source of support before they even started school. The idea was an overwhelming success. The other staff members and mentors made my life so much easier. Smiles and laughter were all around throughout the past three days. In looking back at the process, I rediscovered a part of myself. I loved being outdoors. I love working with students. Part of me wants to this more often. As I continue with weight loss, I have even started to consider applying for weight loss camps to provide support kids going through struggles with their weight.  The dates seem to be over a month in the summer and I don’t think that I could take the entire month off of work to do this. Who knows what the future will hold?

Now for the bad part. The diet was non existent at camp. I immersed myself in camp food and good times with the campers. However, I was walking at all hours of the day and even took 9 students on a run on one of the mornings. The scale is not going to love me in the morning, but I still love myself…completely.

Now for the good part: I got my results back from the last 5k.

469  1062 Joseph Davis                     28 303/411   26/34   M   29:57  9:39   32:55 Tempe AZ

I’ve broken the 30 minute barrier. This is about 2 minute faster than my first run. I love the improvement. A few sites out there have plans for prepping for marathons. Now that I’m back home, it’s time to start! Wish me luck!

I’ve started watching The Biggest Loser on Netflix. I’m starting on season one. Being me, I already spoiled the ending for myself, but I still want to see the journey along the way. I find myself inspired by their determination to continue working out and even resisting temptation. They are all so strong and have come so far. Here’s hoping my journey is as productive! The one thing that is most important is that they have to do it for themselves. It is such a hard thing to put yourself first. To hold yourself to a higher standard is a difficult and sometimes disappointing endeavor.

I want to hold myself to a higher standard.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

