Calorie Counting Programs

Let’s be honest about me. I need to count calories to stay on the wagon. Even once I reach my goal weight, I think I will still monitor my caloric intake to stay within a certain range. To me, getting over eating is like leaving an addiction. You are always in recovery with the potential to relapse.

I’ve seen several great online tools and apps along the way to help. I have loved FitBit and MyFitnessPal as they have large libraries of food that makes it easy to stay on track. FitBit takes it a bit further and tracks your steps and sleep pattens. Nifty.

I was recently invited to try out SlimKicker. It has the standard exercise and calorie counters, but it seems to want to do a bit more. While it could use a better food library, it takes the spotlight in having something to motivate success…even if it is superficial.

I am a gaming nerd. They have always been a part of my life and I expect that they will remain that way. When a fitness tracker incorporates gaming concepts, I am intrigued. SlimKicker gives points for food and exercise (more points for eating healthy). When you work the system, you set a goal such as a “cheat meal” or a movie night. Once you get enough points, you can treat yourself to the goal. Even one step more, you can create challenges for groups of people that award even more points. It’s an interesting concept and worth checking out if you need that extra motivation push and support.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Calorie Counting Programs

  1. Casie

    I am a sucker for a good game especially if it’s involves fitness.

  2. I love SlimKicker!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

