Hardest Part of Saying No

Hello Readers,
Sometimes doing the right thing for your health and weight loss hurts people’s feelings. My parents sent me a wonderful care package for Christmas. In it was a tin of home-made cookies, brownies, and other yummy sweets. My mother and I used to make these during the holidays and I’ve come to realize that this is one of the ways my family shows affection..through food and time spent eating said food.
I had to tell her that I would be unable to eat the contents of the tin due to the diet program. I think I hurt her feelings, but it was the farthest thing from my intent. It warms my heart to think that she cared enough to spend the time to cook the pastries with me in her thoughts. I’m just at a point right now where I do not want to slip up. One cookie turns to four. It kind of snowballs on me when I give in sometimes.
I’m reminded an important lesson on this journey when I was looking for inspiration. On some form of television weight loss show (thinking Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition), it was mentioned that you have to put yourself and your weight loss at the forefront of everything to be successful. unfortunately, this even includes family and traditions.
Can I one day return to moderation and eating the occasional sweet? Perhaps, but today is not that day. I just wish I didn’t feel so crappy about it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hardest Part of Saying No

  1. Jody

    Keep up the good work. I know that as a family many of our traditions are based around food, but as you hold true to yourself, your family will recognize the importance to yourself. You may even find yourself creating new traditions as a family that don’t revolve around food.

    As you said, you must put yourself first!

  2. formercupcakelover

    Oh my gosh I know how you feel. The number of times in the past (when I was “on track”) that I have offended someone or even been teased because of my food choices is beyond counting. I am learning just how psychological food is!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

