Forward!

I’m feeling accomplished today!

Had plans with Stephen to go paddle boating and hiking. The high only got to be about 60 and was still a bit cold for paddle boating. We decided to do brunch and a hike (Squaw Peak) instead.

The brunch spot was actually very nice. I had a skillet which totaled about 700 calories. Not the best, but not bad at all. Stephen had the same, but also ordered this gargantuan cinnamon roll. I resisted despite his attempts to bump me back over 200.

He drove to the hiking spot and we were lucky enough to get a spot in the way, way back of the area. It reminded me of a trip that he and I took to a lake the year prior with the mountains surrounding us. Sadly, there was no water. Unlike the other hikes that I’ve seen in AZ, this one is mostly steps. It made it a bit easier for me to climb and I am quite happy to report that I did not face plant. Came close a few times, but I recovered quickly.  Took some pics along the way.

IMG_0061

Stephen figuring out which way is up.

IMG_0062

Start of the trail

IMG_0072

About half way up. It looks smaller that it was.

IMG_0074

Near the summit

IMG_0076

Stephen and I at the summit.

IMG_0080

View from the top

IMG_0086

Traded camera man jobs with another group.

I want to compare this one to a previous picture from our first hike.

IMG_0724

A hike in the previous year

I can certainly see a change! 🙂 At the bottom of this post is a panorama photo from my phone. I wish it would appear larger, but maybe you can click on it?

As Stephen and I parted ways, we got some Jamba Juice. Not bad at all. It was my first real time at that place and I certainly want to go again.

On top of the hike, I still got my Insanity complete for the day.  Not a bad day at all.

pano1

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Forward!

  1. Pingback: The Art Game’s Backcountry Hike Week 49 Update… – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

