Loving it

Just got back from day one at the gym.

I took the advice of my friend, Nelson, and started out with some weight lifting bits. In the area with the elliptical machines, there are these stand alone and weight invaded machines. I started off with this an one, but it was a bit awkward and I couldn’t adjust the seat to sit comfortably, so I moved on to the next machine.

The next machine focused on arm curls and was much more my style. It was like a bicep curl, but I was pulling these two handles down into a straight arm position. I did my three reps of 10 and by the end, my arms were shaking along with my legs. This surprised me! I wasn’t expecting my legs to shake as I was working out my arms. Was I pushing to hard? After that exercise, I spotted my target for the day.

By the end of the year, I want to be able to do a pull up. Across the room was a pull up assist machine. I’d heard about the machine from others, but did not trust the concept. How could it life me up? A little nervous, I hopped on the machine on the highest assist setting. My face turned into this huge smith as I was able, with the help of the machine, to do my first pull up ever. Seeing my eyes rise above that bar was amazing for me. Even more so, I was surprised that I still had to put in work to raise myself. I did my set of 10 and was struggling towards the end. As I was completing the set, I looked over at my arms and saw my muscles at work. Damn! They do exist! And they looked good and sexy! I busted out another set of ten, but slower than the first time. The machine had taxed me. I gave it another five before I had to stop for the day. I can’t wait to keep going and use less assisted setting.

To round out the day, I did an hour on the elliptical. 475 calories gone!

I came home and had my salad with a trio of cuties oranges. To snack on, I had some mini rice cakes. Those things are delicious and surprisingly low in calories.

Till tomorrow!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Loving it

  1. Great work! Way to set a goal as well. Bust your butt as I know you will and you will topple that goal in no time!

  2. pallavisharma

    have you tried giving the Asylum vol 1 and 2 a shot? That includes alot of weight training along with cardiovascular workouts. I highly recommend that to someone whose trying to build muscles yet stay lean.

    • Joe Davis

      As much as I would like to, I didn’t get the results I wanted from the 60 day program and I hated having to go home a press play everyday to the same videos. It can be effective, but it isn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

