Kayaking Postponed

Heylo all!
The plan was to go kayaking at the town lake near work. That’s not going to work today, unfortunately. As it turns out, there is a salsa festival at the lake that is apparently expect to bring in 20,000 people. I’m not going to be able to get near that place today. There’s always to tomorrow.
So, what do I do today? I’m going to do some landscaping work. Each week, I get 10 bags of rock to cover some of the dirt in my back yard. It’s coming along, but I have some work to do. After that, I’ve been considering giving zumba a try. Lets be honest…I cannot dance for the life of me. I have no idea of my hips at all. People have tried with great effort and failed miserably. So, maybe this will help loosen me up a bit?
I’m starting to set my eyes on running again, but I’m wondering if there are any distance runs (1/2 marathons) in the local area this summer. It’s very hot here and as much I would like to travel to run, the pups kind of put a lid of those ideas. I need to find something local.
In other news, I got the final answer about the PhD program from the Registrar. I would certainly be considered an out of state student at this point. Unfortunately, that is the end of my time at ODU. On to different and better things? Perhaps I will look into new academic pursuits…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Kayaking Postponed

  1. zumba is heaps of fun, and believe me if i (the queen of 2 left feet) can do it, anybody can 🙂

    • Joe Davis

      How did you get a hang of the moves?

      • i takes a few classes, but everyone is in the same boat so don’t worry about getting it wrong. when it is confusing i will tend to drop the hand movements and concentrate on getting the feet right first then add the arms back when i’m more confident. and the golden rule is if in doubt, shake something and laugh a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

