Figuring it out

I’m slowly figuring this all out.

Yes, weight loss and fitness is about wants…and needs. But most of all, it is about balance.

Weight loss worked for me because I was isolated and had time to adjust to the new lifestyle. I remember reading in high school that it takes three weeks of repeating something for it to become habitual. I have myself that time and it worked out for me. I was able to keep it up past that because it was the new normal.

Now that I am nearing where I want to be, the weight just doesn’t come off as easy. This is partly motivation and partly nature. The same diet doesn’t produce the same results as when I was 360. So the primary issue for me is the motivation.

I’ve been stuck in the 200-210 area for the past month or so. I can tend to do really well during the week but then usually blow it all during the weekends. The sugar cookie massacre of this past weekend is a prime example. This is good and bad news for me.

The good news is that I know that I can still enjoy things without returning to a higher weight. I can’t go completely off the wagon, but I know that a few bad days here or there is not the end and I can control my weight fairly easily once I know what is happening

The bad news is that I’m not going anywhere while doing this. Yes, balance is good and is what we all need to learn, but that type of balance isn’t getting the results. I need more control to reach my goals.

Short term goal: Behave over the weekend with your diet.

Follow the plan: two shakes and a Lean Cuisine dinner. Allow two 100 calorie snacks.

I think some of this is about to get a little bit easier. My roommate is moving out next week. Removing temptation(most of the food in the house) will be good for me…even though I’ll miss the company!

Have a hiking outing tomorrow for my vacation day off of work. I may even go to the gym afterwards! 

Did the gym last night, too. 30 minutes of lifting and 30 minutes of cardio. For the lifting, I did the fly machine, rowing, lat pull, ab twist, and bicep curl. I put the weight up to 110 and after 3 sets of 10, dropped the weight by half and did another set of 10. Finally. I put the machine on the lowest setting and just repeated until I was spent. I wanted to go for the pull up bar, but there were people doing stretches right by it and I felt as if I would be intruding on their space.

I think I’m slowly figuring this whole gym thing out. Now if only I could figure myself out a bit, I would be golden!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Figuring it out

  1. I love this post Joe. I am 100% with you, and am experiencing the same exact thing. We both need to keep pushing to reach those goals, and you’re right – it is both motivation and nature. We can’t do much about the nature (as frustrating as that is!), but we just need to find new ways to motivate.

    I’m actually using something that you taught me from one of your older blog posts. I’ve set up a reward system where I am going to buy something for myself for reaching short term goals. So far I’ve “earned” a foam roller, and I’m determined to stay good so I can buy a pull up bar! I’ve only been doing this a little over a week, but so far it has been that little extra boost of motivation I’ve been looking for. So – thanks for the idea!

    Stick with it – you’ve done great so far. And I know you’ll find that extra bit of motivation to keep pushing through.

  2. fatassguidetotheuniverse

    “Follow the plan: two shakes and a Lean Cuisine dinner. Allow two 100 calorie snacks.”

    Is that enough food for you, especially since you’re incorporating weight training? You’ll have a a tough time stimulating muscle growth with such an extreme calorie deficit. Perhaps it’s not so much about the number on the scale but rather the recomposition of your body. Based off the pics you post you’re obviously not overweight anymore. Re-evaluate your diet, try to establish a healthy way of consistant eating (real, clean foods) that you can maintain for life.

    Find motivation in the fact that you’re motivating others to change, keep up the workouts, progressively increasing the weight you lift will change your body, just be patient and consistant.

    • Joe Davis

      Thanks for the concern and kind words! I actually am still overweight with about 22% bodyfat. Still room to drop quite a bit. Point taken about body composition changing. Just hard when you don’t see it.

  3. I agree- you need to eat better and NATURAL foods- not super processed crap made in a factory that resembles food. You keep killing bags of cookies because your body is screaming for help. When you starve yourself, you are putting your body into preservation mode and any calories you get it is doing its best to hold onto it.

    How is your ability to eat meats (chicken breasts, steak, pork chops, bacon, eggs) and your veggie intake? I remember these things not being favorites when you were a kid.

    I will buy you a book if you think you can start eating some of these things. The book has a 30 day meal plan AND also tells you EXACTLY what you will need to buy at the grocery store. Your body will get plenty of good food, stay within your calorie limit, give you tons of energy and you can work out until you drop dead.

    Recipes are not complicated- easy to make with step by step instructions.

    • Joe Davis

      No on the porkchops and steak. I can do chicken fairly well if it is done right. Bacon and eggs are always good. I’ve looked at paleo recipes before and nothing has looked good at all.

      Veggies are still an issue. Can do then cold, but they are disgusting once cooked (minus onions and peppers).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

